The Magento Marketplace for Innovators

THE LATEST


The experimental retail concept THE LATEST is shopping 2.0, with "the law of democracy" ruling in the offline store in Berlin. None of the novel, exclusive, and smart products are particularly emphasized. Instead, QR codes connect the real with the digital world. In THE LATEST online store, customers can find background information on the innovative items. It's not about selling off the same old junk, but rather about reframing shopping as a unique, new, and progressive experience. Using Magento 2, we created a marketplace solution for the Avantgarde GmbH to run its business. The only catch with this awesome project: We only had 8 weeks to finish it.

Magento Shop: Express Version

The Last Shall Be First!


If you know anything about e-commerce, Magento, and merchandise management, you can imagine what it means to build a Magento 2 store, develop and integrate a custom module for the manufacturers within the Marketplace solution, connect inventory management, and, just when you think you’re done, rethink the whole concept because the legal department is on strike. Knorke accomplished this feat after a preparatory conception phase — not in 2 years, not in 6 months, but in 8 weeks — from offer to MVP. Don't mention the coffee shop bill and the overtime balance… That's when the brand name THE LATEST took on a whole new meaning.

All for One and One for All

The "Marketplace" Module


THE LATEST's underlying principle is to create an off- and online platform for innovative and exclusive products. Therefore, the assortment of the online store is composed of products from very different manufacturers and suppliers. Each of these suppliers needs its own legal terms and conditions and imprint to operate on the platform. To address this issue, Knorke created a custom Magento module, which turns the Magento backend into somewhat of a marketplace. The order processing is automated, while the suppliers handle the shipping themselves.

View of the Homepage
Category View
Product View
A Well-Rounded Result

Magento Integration With Inventory Management


To ensure smooth order processing and accounting and inventory management despite complex supplier relationships, we connected the merchandise management system Cegid directly to Magento. Because this integration took some serious brainpower, we called in the talented guys and gals from MSPos and Retail IT. The inventory integration in Magento was also part of the MVP, so it was up and running just in time for the launch of THE LATEST. We are mighty proud!

THE LATEST

The experimental retail concept THE LATEST is shopping 2.0, with “the law of democracy” ruling in the offline store in Berlin. None of the novel, exclusive, and smart products are particularly emphasized. Instead, QR codes connect the real with the digital world. In THE LATEST online store, customers can find background information on the innovative items. It’s not about selling off the same old junk, but rather about reframing shopping as a unique, new, and progressive experience. Using Magento 2, we created a marketplace solution for the Avantgarde GmbH to run its business. The only catch with this awesome project: We only had 8 weeks to finish it.

KundeAVANTGARDE Sales & Marketing Support GmbHMit am StartRetail IT, MSPosJahr2020Websitethe-latest.de

Der Magento Marketplace für Innovatoren

THE LATEST


Das experimentelle Retailkonzept THE LATEST ist Shopping 2.0. Im Offline-Store in Berlin herrscht dabei „das Gesetz der Demokratie“. Keines der neuartigen, exklusiven und smarten Produkte wird besonders hervorgehoben. Stattdessen verbinden QR-Codes die echte mit der digitalen Welt. Im THE LATEST Onlineshop findet der Kunde Hintergrundinfos zu den innovativen Artikeln. Es geht nicht um den Abverkauf des immerselben Ramsch, sondern um Shopping als einzigartiges, neues und zukunftsgewandtes Erlebnis. Für das Unternehmen der Avantgarde GmbH haben wir aus Magento 2 eine Marketplace Lösung kreiert. Der einzige Haken bei diesem geilen Projekt: Wir hatten nur 8 Wochen Zeit…

Magento Shop: Express Version

Die Letzten werden die Ersten sein!


Wer auch nur ein bisschen Ahnung von E-Commerce, Magento und Warenwirtschaft hat, der kann sich vorstellen, was das bedeutet: Einen Magento 2 Shop aufzubauen, ein eigenes Modul für die Hersteller innerhalb der Marketplace Lösung entwickeln und einbinden, Warenwirtschaft anbinden und kurz vor knapp noch mal das ganze Konzept überdenken, weil die Rechtsabteilung streikt. Knorke hat das nach einer vorbereitenden Konzeptionsphase geschafft und zwar nicht in 2 Jahren und auch nicht in 6 Monaten, sondern in 8 Wochen vom Angebot bis zum MVP. Fragt nicht nach der Coffeshop-Rechnung und der Überstundenbilanz….Da bekam der Brandname THE LATEST noch einmal eine ganz neue Bedeutungsebene.

Alle für einen, einer für alle

Das „Marketplace“-Modul


Das Prinzip von THE LATEST: off- und online eine Plattform für neuartige und exklusive Produkte schaffen. Das Sortiment des Onlineshops setzt sich also aus Produkten ganz unterschiedlicher Hersteller und Lieferanten zusammen. Damit diese auch rechtssicher mit eigenen AGB und Impressum auf der Plattform agieren können, hat Knorke ein eigenes Magento Modul kreiert, das aus dem Magento Backend fast so etwas wie einen Marketplace macht. Die Bestellabwicklung läuft automatisiert, den Versand übernehmen die Anbieter selbst.

Ansicht der Startseite
Kategorieansicht
Produktansicht
Eine runde Sache

Magento Anbindung an Warenwirtschaft


Damit die Bestellabwicklung sowie Rechnungswesen und Lagerverwaltung trotz komplexem Lieferantenverhältnis smooth laufen, haben wir das Warenwirtschaftssystem Cegid direkt mit Magento verbunden. Weil diese Integration einigen Gehirnschmalz gekostet hat, haben wir uns die talentierten Jungs und Mädels von MSPos und Retail IT mit ins Boot geholt. Auch die WaWi-Integration in Magento war Teil des MVP und stand also pünktlich zum Startschuss von THE LATEST. Wir sind mächtig stolz!

THE LATEST

Das experimentelle Retailkonzept THE LATEST ist Shopping 2.0. Für die Entwicklung des Magento 2 Onlineshops, der einem Marketplace ähnelt, kam Avantgarde zu Knorke. Der einzige Haken bei diesem geilen Projekt: Wir hatten nur 8 Wochen Zeit…

KundeAVANTGARDE Sales & Marketing Support GmbHMit am StartRetail IT, MSPosJahr2020Websitethe-latest.de